Author Topic: Unrestored - 68 Coupe Project - San Jose 7M14  (Read 3248 times)

Offline tim_morrison82

• Click Here for My Project
Unrestored - 68 Coupe Project - San Jose 7M14
« on: February 09, 2013, 10:52:13 PM »
This is my first project car ever, and first mustang. i bought the car site unseen with the understanding that the car won't be too original, but had the guy saying its matching numbers. he must have meant the apron vin numbers all match the door and the window...

on closer inspection:
original 302w 4v replaced with a '74 dated 302w with 2v carby.
Original C4 replaced with 69 dated Maverick C4
Original 8" 3.00:1 diff - yep, replaced with a 67 A code 8" 2.79:1

the Original Dizzy from my car was in the boot. so at least something was Original and present.

car came with AC - Removed under hood but under dash all original,
Bench seat - removed and replaced with 70 cougar high back seats,
power disc brakes - Still original including booster with tag. when i opened up the hub, it still had the remnants of the radio suppressor there.
steering box - tagged and original,
power steer pump - tagged and original,
Alternator - still not determined (a ton of calcium/oxidation buildup),

i have since sourced:
most AC parts including brackets and pulleys - minus hoses, and the fixed idler pulley. all specific for build date - same as 67 AC setup.
Date correct engine, never been apart, but had a few external components replaced - fuel pump and everything above the carby spacer was either replaced or incorrect. waterpump was replaced and everything forward of that was missing. there was no fan or spacer, etc...
radiator was replaced, and no shroud present. i recently found a shroud, and have my eye on a few radiators kicking around online.