Author Topic: You be the MCA Judge on this engine. What is wrong, competing in concours.  (Read 2552 times)

Offline 79mustangcobra

With the 79 Capri RS Engine Bay on Ebay.

Again, a very nice car.  We are just doing friendly nit picking which can help prepare your car for a MCA Event.  Of course this engine bay is not show ready.  I will show a picture of what it should look like later, after the fun of figuring it out.

1979 Mustang Cobra 5.0
2P Red and 1C Black

Stock never goes out of style
MCA #70281 -  79-93 MCA Concours Judge
Proverbs 3:5-6

Offline cobrajetchris

I am not an expert on concourse details on this model however I did note the rt. inner fender apron appears to be buckled and there is a large gap between the fender and the apron. The area I question is to the rear of the battery at the snorkel inlet. Again I am not an expert on this model but that does not look right to me. Sometimes in looking for the little details we miss some obvious things. If this is a car you are looking to buy you may want to take a closer look at that. 
CHRIS KNOBBE
69 MUSTANG COUPE, DEARBORN BUILT 06/10/69 OWNED SINCE 1978
70 BOSS 302 MUSTANG, DEARBORN BUILT 10/24/69 OWNED SINCE 1987
69 R CODE MACH1 AUTO, DEARBORN BUILT 10/10/68 OWNED SINCE 2006
69 R CODE MACH1 4 SPEED (factory black) SAN JOSE BUILT 12/30/68 OWNED SINCE 2007

Offline drummingrocks

As far as little things: aftermarket battery and replacement radiator cap.  Also, has someone painted part of the wiper motor housing black?  Looks like half of it is natural.  After looking closer, it does look like the RH fender apron might be buckled.  You can sort of see it where the paint has fleaked off.
Too much junk, too little time.

Offline KevinK

Battery, wiper motor, distributor cap, radiator cap, hose clamps, rust, dirt, flaking paint, missing plugs on cowl, air cleaner color, air cleaner lid finish, non-Ford Radiator, battery cables, no rivet in onion head mount.