Author Topic: 1966 Paint Color Codes  (Read 11802 times)

Offline Pete Bush

1966 Paint Color Codes
« on: October 10, 2010, 08:44:31 AM »
I've been attempting to research the "standard" color codes for 1966, and came up with the following list. I realize that Ford would paint almost any color the customer asked for.

First, I'd like to verify the veracity of the list.

Second, I'm needing help on the interior color table. I need the build sheet code for "white" and the corresponding Ditzler paint numbers.
'66 6-cylinder Sprint Convertible
Metuchen - Scheduled May 10th; Built June 21st

Offline Pete Bush

Re: 1966 Paint Color Codes
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 09:24:14 PM »
Okay, I think I’ve reconciled the exterior paint and accent stripe colors, but I’m having difficulty with the interior paints.
I’m looking at the 1965/66 Interior Trim Schemes [attached]
The Group 1 codes pretty much match the 6 build sheet codes:
•   D = Parchment #5779
•   5 = Red Irid #5773R
•   6 = Charcoal Black Irid #4464
•   2 = Light Blue Irid #5748
•   7 = Light Aqua Irid #5742
•   ? = White #5767
The instrument panel and steering column of both standard and deluxe trims would have been painted these colors, and these would have been in place during bucking?
Also in place were the windshield posts and metal door surfaces, but standard trim cars were painted Group 1 colors while deluxe trim cars were painted Group 2. Did the radiator support markings (that transmitted the painting instructions during bucking) include the deluxe Trim Code so that the body could be prepared properly?
« Last Edit: October 12, 2010, 06:24:00 AM by Pete Bush »

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2010, 09:58:28 PM »
........... 2. Did the radiator support markings (that transmitted the painting instructions during bucking) include the deluxe Trim Code so that the body could be prepared properly?