Author Topic: Phosphating 101 -  (Read 30583 times)

Offline jwc66k

Phosphating 101 -
« on: April 22, 2012, 02:08:59 PM »
I've been phosphating for over twenty years and this is what it entails. There's a lot of items involved in the phosphate and oil process. Remember, you are playing around with acid.
1. It only works on steel and iron parts so don't try it on aluminum, brass, copper or non-metallic items.
2. Items to be phosphated must be clean. More on that later.
3. Use only stainless steel tanks and tools. One exception is the rinse tank.
4. I preheat three gallons of water in my kitchen and pour what I need into the stainless tank heated by propane.
5. Store unused chemicals in HDPE containers.
6. I found that air drying works best, in temperatures above 72F, in the sun and with a bit of breeze prior to the oil step.
7. I don't recomend drying in an oven as it leads to rust forming. It may be a matter of timing, but air drying works.
Tools - (see pictures)
1. Stove. I like propane. Electric stoves don't seem to last, don't produce enough heat and are too small. You need at least 180F water to phosphate.
2. Tanks - All stainless steel. You can get them from restaurant supply stores, Wall-Mart types or e-bay. My rectanglular tank is big enough to do a hood hinge (12 3/4 X 11 5/8 X 3 7/8), but you have to "splash" the spring retaining arm. The fish poaching tank (19 1/2 X 6 3/4 X 4) works well on long items, center links, strut rods, etc, but you have to swap ends of the item after 45 seconds to a minute. The round pan is for metal blackening and the sauce pan (stainless) is for small batches, mostly nuts and bolts.
3. Tools - Goodwill. I got the long hook from a hardware store. It is stainless (all stainless is expensive). It was 36 inches lon and I cut it in half and promptly lost one piece. Bend as necessary.
4. Metal blackening - Eastwood. Just get the metal blackening solution as the rest of the stuff is a joke. Well, the HDPE container is nice to have.