Author Topic: Hardware and Misc Item Colors  (Read 2336 times)

Offline Machspeed

Hardware and Misc Item Colors
« on: November 16, 2015, 10:49:39 PM »
Friends, newbie here so please forgive if I have overlooked this information on this website. I’m beginning the restoration of my 69 Mustang Mach 1. While this car will be somewhat of a restomod (engine and transmission), I still want to retain much of the cars originality. That said, I’m looking for information on details of fasteners and locations? I’m also wanting for information on colors and coatings for brackets and such? I just purchased an AMK Ford fastener guide but what of the coatings and colors for things such as brackets, latches, hinges and such? 

Thanks,
John

9F02H205917

Offline svo2scj

• Car Collector and home to WHEEL CITY FAIRLANE
Re: Hardware and Misc Item Colors
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2015, 11:58:54 PM »
Hello and welcome !!   You are getting an answer from some one that put such time into a restoration finished in 2010 (9 years actually).

It is good that you got the AMK book, it has to be used in conjunction with a set of 1969 assembly manuals and examples of HARDWARE used on your car!
You will find that none of the book take into account factory hardware differences.   Reading that you have a Dearborn car/going restomod will make it easier.

On the finishes (again this is plant specific) BUT there is much to be garnered from searching sites like this, 428CJ.org and Boss302.com . Expect to spend hours looking at photos in galleries of cars, learning how to "only look at original examples"/cars like yours.   

When I did my car there wasn't as much info as there is today.      Efforts like Marcus's http://www.anghelrestorations.com/mustang-factoids.html as well as the MANY members that will help if you ask make car building/restoration fun.