Author Topic: Phosphating solutions  (Read 1699 times)

Offline BKnapp

Phosphating solutions
« on: April 27, 2016, 07:27:46 PM »
I am still learning about the phosphating options and procedures. I have read many different threads on many different forums and was (maybe still am) confused about the usage of the terms P&O, Phosphate, Zinc Phosphate, Magnesium Phosphate...I think I am coming to an understanding. Here is what I have so far, and please correct me where I am wrong:

- Both Zinc & Magnesium Phosphate processes are actually followed by oil, WD40, Boeshield, or similar
- The term "P&O" seems be used solely for the Magnesium Phosphate
- Both finishes use similar procedures, just a different phosphating solution
- I assume, through further research, I will be able to determine the "correct" finish (zinc or magnesium) when posts refer to "phosphate" without specifying

Again, I am learning the ropes, acquiring knowledge, and learning through trial and error...hopefully without explosions. I finally got my vibratory tumbler, blasting cabinet (still trying to learn about the various media), zinc plating kit, strainers, etc....still have stuff to acquire.

Is anyone familiar with or have tried these products?

http://mg34.com/product-category/parkerizing/

As always, looking forward to learning more!

Thanks!

Bill
Bill

‘67 390 Coupe A/T  P/S  P/B. (Built 1/4/1967)  7R01S145xxx
‘67 390 FB A/T P/S P/B (Built 3/10/1967) 7F02S173xxx
2007 Shelby GT500 40th Anniv.  Convert. #125

Offline jwc66k

Re: Phosphating solutions
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2016, 07:58:26 PM »
Bill,
I'll give it a try.
- Both Zinc & Magnesium Phosphate processes are actually followed by oil, WD40, Boeshield, or similar