Author Topic: Front/Rear glass S.S. moldings  (Read 3238 times)

Offline Angela

Front/Rear glass S.S. moldings
« on: February 12, 2017, 05:58:43 PM »
Does anyone have a "how to" article they could share concerning installation of the 67-68 clips & stainless steel glass moldings? I'm not very good at finding the right search strings to find previously discussed topics in this form (I usually use google "glass moldings site:www.concoursmustang.com").

I found a couple you tube videos that were blurry and I couldn't tell how they were installing the clips. It appeared that getting the bottom and top trim pieces was tricky, meaning that once the clips engaged you couldn't slide the trim left or right. I also read that it's very easy to damage paint unless you have someone to help you. I don't have help, so I'm pausing to post this in hopes of learning more before I try it alone.

I have my stainless all polished up and I have new clips from AMK. I just need some advice concerning how to install these pieces. Thanks.

Offline mtinkham

• That'll be easy
Re: Front/Rear glass S.S. moldings
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 02:00:35 PM »
Angela...I am about to embark on the same task and look forward to any replies that you receive.  From watching youtube, I learned that it is a good idea to mark, with tape, where the clips are located so efforts to "clip" the molding are concentrated at the right location.  Mustangs to fear suggested that the clips be flattened slightly before installation.  He explains that flattening the clips makes it easier to "clip" the molding.  I haven't done this yet, so I don't know if flattening is a good suggestion or even necessary.