Author Topic: Underbody color - Jan 68 Dearborn  (Read 1534 times)

Offline Thierry68

Underbody color - Jan 68 Dearborn
« on: February 12, 2018, 04:56:58 PM »
Hello
For begining excuse me for my bad english
My name is Thierry, I live in France, in Lyon, I'm 55 years old, I'm a doctor and lover of beautiful cars since I was teenager .
Already owner of a Chevrolet 55 that I fully restored for over 3 years, I just acquired a Mustang 68 in perfect condition (not the slightest trace of rust on the underbody and on the body).
I bought it last June and brought it from the USA (Princetone).
It's a convertible, V8 289 ci, automatic (C4), wimbledon white color, standard interior Dark Red vinyl, with power top, power steering and center console.
The interior is probably mostly vintage and still very clean.
I start in the Mustang World and will certainly need your advice soon in many fields.
I allready changed the chrome air filter and valve covers to put back original ones bought on ebay to give it back its true vintage look.
Finally she will need now a beautiful painting.
My first question is about the color of the underbody for a Mustang 68 build the 01/29/1968 in Dearborn (during the strike).
I found in an other forum that in Dearborn it was grey generaly. But I found too, that during the strike, in March and April 68 it was Oxide Red, and that in June 68 it was dark grey. But what about January?
Can somebody help me ?
If it's Oxide red, is there a paint code for Oxide Red?
I know there was none for grey.

Thierry
« Last Edit: February 12, 2018, 05:27:12 PM by J_Speegle »

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
Re: Underbody color - Jan 68 Dearborn
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 05:44:13 PM »
First welcome to the site. Hope you find the information and support here helpful in your restoration endeavour. We have a very narrow focus here on this site but the experiences and knowledge base is pretty deep