Author Topic: trying to work out what color my car might be  (Read 6415 times)

Offline 2V8s

trying to work out what color my car might be
« on: January 05, 2011, 06:38:01 PM »
Hi all,

someone sent me a link to this forum - its great, as Im very keen on originality and maintaining and restoring my '67 Mustang convertible that I bought in October last year, though Im not looking to get it concours as such.

I'm still "getting to know" my car, but luckily I do have a good amount of early history with it, and I have had a deluxe Marti report that shows everything seems to match, door data plate and vin all correct etc.

But one thing is puzzling me. The color.

I have made contact with the previous owner who had the car 15 yrs in California, who is pretty sure its 90% original, never fully restored as such, just paint touch ups and stuff like that here and there, though Im not so sure but then Im no expert. He thinks the color is Silver Frost

The car is a San Jose built (Jan 1967) 289 C code auto with power steering, power hood, centre console and a few other bits and bobs.

But it has no color code on the data plate, and the marti report shows it as a special order paint - Ford # unknown. The DSO was for West side of Canada DSO B7 as a special order 7134.

Order type - Fleet
DSO item 7A31
Dealer B70126 Musgrove Ford Sales, Vancouver.

The car does indeed look like it could be Silver Frost but I havnt yet found someone in the UK to compare it to. But if this is the case, and that was a standard 67 color option, why would it not be paint code 4 on the data plate and Ford records?

Any help appreciated, also I dont really understand the order type and DSO item references.