Author Topic: Carb spacer & gaskets - 68 S code  (Read 7530 times)

Offline WT8095

• Dave Z.
Re: Carb spacer & gaskets - 68 S code
« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2015, 10:01:38 PM »

Thanks Jeff! I think that solidifies it pretty well, at least for my Feb. S-code. For others, it would be interesting to pinpoint when (or if) the C8AZ-G was used on S-codes.

Posting the '75 MPC info for reference.
Dave Z.

'68 fastback, S-code + C6. Special Paint (Rainbow promotion), DSO 710784. Actual build date 2/7/1968, San Jose.
'69 Cougar convertible, 351W-2V + FMX, Meadowlark Yellow.

Offline WT8095

• Dave Z.
« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2015, 10:33:28 PM »
I recently acquired this nice used spacer from JD Larson. One of the holy grails I have been seeking for nearly 30 years! I probably would have not found the correct one or even known what it looked like if it wasn't for all of you - thank you!

The spacer came with three thin washers looped around the tag wire. They appear to be remnants of the metal grommets used in the thick gasket that goes on top of the spacer (the grommets appear to be two-piece swaged assemblies). Can someone confirm this? I have not seen a washer like this used on the carb mounting nuts, or anywhere else for that matter.
Dave Z.

'68 fastback, S-code + C6. Special Paint (Rainbow promotion), DSO 710784. Actual build date 2/7/1968, San Jose.

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2015, 10:51:53 PM »
The spacer came with three thin washers looped around the tag wire. They appear to be remnants of the metal grommets used in the thick gasket that goes on top of the spacer (the grommets appear to be two-piece swaged assemblies). Can someone confirm this? I have not seen a washer like this used on the carb mounting nuts, or anywhere else for that matter.