Author Topic: Engine required.  (Read 3800 times)

Offline austr6

Engine required.
« on: October 28, 2015, 04:00:49 PM »
Hello all,
I know this is going to be a very difficult thing to acquire,  I am looking for a 289 4V to suit May build 66 A Code GT mustang DSO71.with correct date stamping / casting
I live in Australia and would love any feed back from the guys here, please go easy on me, I am new to mustangs and its a steep learning curve for me.
The engine I have appears to have the correct date code timing cover and intake manifold etc, so it looks like the block and heads were changed and they retained most of the original other parts ?
I intend on getting this vehicle as close to correct as i possibly can, and its very important to me to start with a correct engine block/heads

Thank you.
May 20 1966
GT Fastback
A code,
Auto ,Air conditioning, Power Steering
Standard Interior
6R09A202931

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
Re: Engine required.
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 05:33:31 PM »
So your going to be looking for a Feb-March block  with Thermactor heads  that has not been overbored. 2V or 4V isn't going to make a big difference since you already have the intake. Though it would be nice you'll have allot better chance finding a 2V engine and the price should reflect it also. Consider everything - buy the best ;)

Moving this to the wanted area. IMHO plenty of possibilities out there but having to deal with the date details will not make allot of sellers happy :(  And of course from a distance its not going to be easy.  There are normally a few engines every week in the California Craiglists though few will mention anything about the dates or castings in the ads.

Would be good if they still have at least the smog "trees" attached to the heads since they are often bent or destroyed when guys try and take them off

« Last Edit: November 04, 2015, 11:18:14 PM by J_Speegle »
Jeff Speegle

Anything worth doing is worth doing concours ;)

Offline austr6