Author Topic: Coil Spring Removal-'69-'70  (Read 7194 times)

Offline mechachy

Coil Spring Removal-'69-'70
« on: July 24, 2014, 05:03:19 PM »
As you can see, this is my first post on this site.  I’ve got a ’70 Boss 302 that I’ve been working on for the last three years and have spent most of my time on the Boss 302 forum.  I posted this tip over on the Boss 302 Registry site and thought some might find it useful here as well.

I've begun the not-so-fun task of removing the front suspension to not only replace all of the tired pieces but to detail the front chassis as well.  For a project such as this, you can’t get very far without the removal of the coil springs.  If you talk to just about any mechanic, the smile quickly leaves their face when you ask them about this job.  When I saw a video titled How Not to Die Removing a Mustang, Falcon, Fairlane Front Suspension () and then read on this forum how someone was killed when the spring let go and hit him in the chest, I knew for sure that this was serious business.

The original Ford shop manual calls for a different method than the one used in the above video using a special Ford tool.

You then compress the spring until it clears the upper A-arm, disconnect the A-arm from the spindle and pivot it out of the way on its own ball joint. 

The spring can then be de-compressed and lowered out. 

A mechanic friend of mine has made a coil spring compressor tool that mimics in some ways the tool that is shown in the Ford shop manual.  It basically compresses the spring with a plate that sits on top of the shock tower and a threaded rod that attaches to a fork that hooks onto one of the coils.  The fork is actually from an old Snap-On spring removal set and I’ve seen similar ones in my on-line search for spring compressors.  It looks like a similar tool could be made fairly easily and there may in fact be something similar already made.