Author Topic: Trunk Mat Underlayment  (Read 6766 times)

Offline tobkob

Trunk Mat Underlayment
« on: April 06, 2016, 10:43:00 PM »
I am getting ready to reproduce the underlayment for my April 7th Shelby (Dearborn). I studied the article in the Library several times but when I looked at my original pad I found it had the tar and oiled kraft paper only on 1 side and the recycled fibers on the other side instead of the oiled paper. Has anyone seen this? I was searching this site and found this thread but it is probably a '68. http://www.concoursmustang.com/forum/index.php?topic=8864.0
Here are some pictures of my original (pieces),new material, and original trunk mat.

TOB
1969 (04/07/69) GT350 owned since 1970. Only owner since Hertz.

Offline tobkob

Re: Trunk Mat Underlayment
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2016, 10:44:08 PM »
More pictures

Offline Bob Gaines

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2016, 11:04:22 PM »
I know this is not what you want to hear but it is more typical for a 69 Dearborn produced Shelby to have the tar,paper and thin plastic . Not the recycled fiber material. Not to say it is impossible but do say it is not typical.     
Bob Gaines,Shelby enthusiast, Shelby collector , Shelby concours judge SAAC,MCA,Mid America Shelby

Offline tobkob

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2016, 11:37:24 PM »
Bob, I am just looking for some opinions as to whether I need to reproduce like Jeff's article or if others had been found like mine. If it was changed it would have been between late May and early December '69.

TOB
« Last Edit: April 06, 2016, 11:48:13 PM by tobkob »

Offline Bob Gaines

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2016, 12:06:18 AM »
Bob, I am just looking for some opinions as to whether I need to reproduce like Jeff's article or if others had been found like mine. If it was changed it would have been between late May and early December '69.

TOB
My opinion is to do it like Jeff's article.