Author Topic: 69 9" NJ Built Red Axle & Rear end Question  (Read 488 times)

Offline FBVet

69 9" NJ Built Red Axle & Rear end Question
« on: September 10, 2022, 03:34:28 PM »
Hello all,

I am new to restoring a cars, this is my first post.  I recently retired from the military and bought a project car to work on. Anyway, the car is a 1969 428-R Code built in Metuchen.  Anyway, while working on parts on the rear, I found some interesting red color on the 9" rearend/axle.  You can see the white markings on it as well.  Also, the rear-tiedowns are also the same color.  The color is much brighter than the iron oxide that I see on the front of the chunk and under other vehicles.  Does anyone have anything similar, or is this some kind of aftermarket paint job.  I used electrolysis to remove the rust from the tiedown and found the red color (the black is the film left from electrolysis).   I want to restore it to the correct color, so I would love more insight from more veteran restorers.  Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2022, 04:07:10 PM by J_Speegle »
1969 Mach-1: 428 CJ built in Metuchen
9T02R117819

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
Re: 69 9" NJ Built Red Axle & Rear end Question
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2022, 04:14:35 PM »
First welcome to the site. Hope the information and support you find here is helpful in your restoration projects

For future reference you might consider placing your cars information - What it is, where it was built and when - to your signature in the profile button in the tool bar above. Really helps identify much of the details we will need to respond to questions or what information you share about your car.

So from your pictures it appears that someone in the past took a red rattle can to the rearend of the car. Likely the cars rear was jacked up with air shocks so someone thought it would be a good idea since it was more visible. The red paint on the tie down confirms this IMHO