Author Topic: Trac Loc/Equa Loc Dif  (Read 635 times)

Offline BillM68FB

Trac Loc/Equa Loc Dif
« on: September 13, 2022, 01:08:24 AM »
I am a newbie member, and this is my first post so please accept my apologies if I have done this wrong. I am the proud 3rd owner of a 68 J code Fastback that I saw about 25 years ago parked in a co-worker's garage, He'd stopped driving it in 1983 with just over 83,000 miles on it. Since we regularly end up seeing each other on camping trips I have made it a point to ask him every time I see him when he was going to sell me "My Mustang" after many years of doing that I almost passed out when on Memorial Day weekend in 2021 he answered with "Well I think I am ready now" needless to say I was at his house with a trailer and a check within 2 weeks. I have spent the last year+ restoring it and just recently had the opportunity to buy a Trac Loc/Equa Loc Dif from a fellow Mustang club member that looks to be in great shape. Unfortunately, after I had already wrestled it into place, I discovered that it does not seem to have a "Fluid fill" plug on it like my open Dif so I am thinking it must have come from a car that had the fill plug on the Axle housing like I know some GT 350's had (I do not have the tag for it) I think I could add the fluid through the end of one of the housing shaft's or the by taking the Pinion gear assembly out however the obvious drawback to this (and feel free to point out all of the others I haven't thought of) is that it will be a real pain in the ___ to ever change the fluid again. Anyway, I am throwing this out for your thoughts/comments.

Thanks
BillM68FB

Offline OldGuy

Re: Trac Loc/Equa Loc Dif
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2022, 01:00:40 PM »
Your situation is not new or unique. You clearly can not remove the pinion assembly to add fluid as the cavity surrounding the pinion assembly is common to the volume where the gear lube is stored and maintained.