Author Topic: body hammer & dolly work: dents that pop in/out  (Read 4908 times)

Offline Angela

body hammer & dolly work: dents that pop in/out
« on: September 07, 2015, 07:52:38 PM »
I'm not very good at straightening sheet metal using body hammers & dollies... but I'm trying to get better at this. I have read a couple books on the topic and own a decent set of Martin hammers & dollies.

I'm looking for advice, tips, links to videos, etc concerning one significant issue I've run into with dents in my quarter panel:

The quarter panel in question had two compound dents wherein I wasn't certain where the original damage had stopped, thus (per the reading I've done) I wasn't really sure where to begin hammering out the dents. Nevertheless, I gave it a shot and was able to significantly reduce the dents and amount of body filler that will be required. However, I notice that if I apply pressure (with my hand) to the dent, it will "pop" inward, then immediately "pop" back out. This scares the snot out of me because if the metal does this once a thin coat of filler (spray-able polyester filler) & paint are applied, the finish will crack. I fear I've damaged the metal in some way and I don't know how to repair it. I once heard this sort of damage might be called "tin-canning", but I'm not certain of that.

Can anyone help me learn how to correct a dent/damaged sheet metal that will pop in & out with pressure applied to the dent? One of these dents requires only moderate pressure from a couple fingers to get it to pop in/out; the second dent requires significantly more pressure to get it to do this, but it will do the same thing if you push fairly hard.

Help????

Offline midlife

• Wiring Guru---let me check your shorts!
  • Global Moderator
    • Midlife Harness Restorations
Re: body hammer & dolly work: dents that pop in/out
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2015, 08:58:57 PM »