Author Topic: Newbie needing some insiders' tips  (Read 1718 times)

Offline MustangMan0331

Newbie needing some insiders' tips
« on: July 28, 2013, 07:02:01 PM »
Hello all,
I finally got my Mustang at 40; it was my BDay gift to myself.  I am brand new at this, and never owned a car that needs restoration like this before.  It is a 1969 Mustang Coupe.  Body is straight (a few body cancer spots, but nothing too out of control), interior is drivable, but it will need to be redone, will need a paint job, and some or all new chrome, has a 302 from another mustang, and an automatic tranny.

Here's my concerns:
1.  I want to make this dependable (and it already is drivable) while I am restoring it so my wife and two kids can ride in it safely.  Any suggestions/hints in this area?
2.  What should I concentrate on first?  Motor? Body work? interior?  In other words, what are the logical steps in restoration of a vehicle like this?
3.  Can you steer me in the right direction for aftermarket parts, etc.?
4.  I live in Castle Rock, just south of Denver, CO., any good places you can recommend to me?  I willing to drive to Denver, or Colorado Springs.  I was looking yesterday at the web site "Classic Mustangs Inc. of CO"  Does anyone know of this place? 
5.  Mustang clubs?  Will they be beneficial for me?

I know these are pretty broad questions, however, like I said I am brand new at this and want to do it right the first time.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Offline J_Speegle

• Administrator
Re: Newbie needing some insiders' tips
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 08:39:22 PM »
First of all welcome to the site.

Second thing (stated nicely so we don't run you off;)   this is a site focused on Concours details so most of our replies will lean (sometimes allot) towards that goal. Please understand this from the beginning