Author Topic: original Ford part numbers database?  (Read 1150 times)

Offline palacekeeper

original Ford part numbers database?
« on: April 10, 2019, 02:04:31 PM »
I've been working on picking up some parts for a 1970 Mach 1, and I've been finding often that the same part (or seemingly the same) sometimes has different OEM part numbers when you find them online, and it's hard to tell which exact part number my car was supposed to have. In some cases I can look at the car and see what it currently has, but in other cases where the original part has been replaced, I don't have that option.

Is there database online somewhere where I can search for parts for my car (by VIN, for example) to make sure that I'm buying the correct ones? The main Ford parts website only goes back to 1980, apparently. You can search farther back but nothing comes up other than a section for caps.

Thanks!
1970 Mustang Mach 1, Grabber Blue
351C 4V M-code, Non A/C
Built at Metuchen
Build Date: December 19, 1969
Dealer: 21A461 Whaley-Dailey Ford Sales, Conyers, GA

Offline jwc66k

Re: original Ford part numbers database?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 04:09:19 PM »
There may be just such a source. It is a Ford document that cross-references Ford "engineering" part numbers to service numbers. It was available as a paper document (book form), and as a micro fiche document set. Unfortunately I do not have the Ford number, and the last time I checked with a Ford service department, they didn't have any idea about this. Check with Fred Ballard - fredsclassics @ hotmail.com who is also a former Ford Service manager and a member of this forum.
Jim
I promise to be politically correct in all my posts to keep the BBBB from vociferating.

Offline palacekeeper

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2019, 04:11:21 PM »
Thanks Jim! I'll give that a try.
351C 4V M-code, Non A/C
Built at Metuchen

Offline flyingfred

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2019, 05:07:24 PM »