Author Topic: looking for an absoute description of NOS  (Read 3481 times)

Offline stang32

looking for an absoute description of NOS
« on: July 25, 2011, 08:26:09 PM »
I am in the middle of a legal issue were I am being accused of stealing a 67 deluxe hood, 1st off I did not steal anything, I am a former NYPD officer & have never been accused of any misconduct.
anyways the person who is accusing me of stealing this hood(which was part of a purchase  I made for a dismantled 67 convertible) says the hood was NOS, told the ADA that it had a value of over 1600 dollars.
the hood was prepped & painted. had moldings installed etc,  I have always been under the belief that once a part is prepped & painted, had items mounted to it, then it is no longer NOS, the next thing is, the value, who determines the value? they should have to get the hood apraised by an expert. NOS parts are only worth what someone is willing to pay for them, right? so there is no actual value.
I have send the ADA over 30 craigslist  & ebay ads for deluxe hoods, nothing priced at more than a couple hundred bucks.

please chime in

Offline dave6768

Re: looking for an absoute description of NOS
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2011, 08:44:41 PM »
Not saying this is the end all of descriptions, however, it's a place to start...

Keep in mind that this does not address if the parts are original Ford with red oxide primer, Ford service parts that were typically black primer, or parts made today on original Ford tooling.  The original source, sure affects the "value."

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
For other uses of the NOS term, see NOS
See also: OEM
New old stock (abbreviated NOS) refers to obsolete equipment, or original parts for obsolete equipment, that have never been sold at retail.[1]